HUGE Barnes & Noble Book Haul

I live in Ontario, Canada, where the biggest book store chain is Indigo. Indigo also owns smaller stores called Chapters and Coles but books at these stores can be quite expensive. We’re talking $20-$25 for paperbacks, and up to $40 for some new hardcover novels, and that’s Canadian dollars.

When I went to Connecticut recently on vacation, I decided to check out the local Barnes & Noble. Upon entering, it was clear to me that this place was heaven on earth. I immediately turned right and ran into a huge stack of books featuring the most beautifully designed hardcovers and compilations of some classic authors. 

There was The Complete Works of Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Bronte, and the list goes on. Most of these books were conveniently priced at $20 but some were $10 and even a few were on sale for $8. Although they were in American prices, with the exchange rate they were still a lot cheaper than what you’ll find in Canada.

So, I went a little crazy and bought, probably one or two, more books than I should have. For my book loving friends, here is that list, with pictures, and descriptions of my thought process while buying each book.


“Classic Works” by F. Scott Fitzgerald: I read and loved The Great Gatsby in high school. I haven’t read anything else by F. Scott but how can you say no when it’s only $8?


“The Complete Fiction” by H. P. Lovecraft: I’ve been wanting to read The Call of Cthulhu for a long time, and since this compilation included that book, plus a few more for the price of one book at Chapters, I bought it. This also comes with At the Mountains of Madness, The Dunwich Horror, and The Colour out of Space, and more.


“The Complete Works of William Shakespeare” in a beautifully bound cover with golden pages… need I say more?


The new live-action Beauty and the Beast revival seems to be all the rage these days, so you can bet Disney is trying to milk it for all it’s worth. That includes commissioning books to be written that expand on the story. Unfortunately I’m a sucker for Disney and stunning book covers. This one caught my eye and I thought the plot line was intruiging enough. Apparently Belle’s mother was the one who cast the spell on the beast and I must find out why!

This box set includes The Tales of Beedle the Bard, Quidditch through the Ages, and Fantastic Beasts and where to find them, with beautiful new covers and I can’t seem to find all of my original copies so I got this. It was on sale for only $20.


These are also, sort of self explanatory. Classics that I don’t already own, with beautiful covers on them!! I got the Anne of Green Gables for my younger cousin who’s turning 12 in May though.

In total, my purchase ended up costing me $150, which, for over 15 books (not including all of Shakespeare’s plays or some of the extras in the F. Scott or H.P.) is quite a good deal.

In the end though, I still love Indigo/Chapters/Coles more because it feels like home and I prefer the way their stores are laid out compared to Barnes & Noble. I just wish books didn’t have to be so expensive because it’s my dream to have a library in my house one day. If I spend all of my money on books and end up living in a library, so be it. At least I’ll be happy.

Let me know where your favourite place to buy books is, and if I’m a fool for not ordering on Amazon. Would you believe me if I told you I’ve never ordered anything on Amazon in my life?!

Thanks for reading and until next time… stay literate.

 

Leave a Reply

